Poe remains top choice for president – SWS

Sen.Grace Poe with former President Joseph Estrada

MANILA – Sen. Grace Poe remained the Filipinos’ most preferred candidate for president based on the TV5-commissioned Bilang Pilipino Social Weather Stations (SWS) mobile survey conducted last March 22.

Poe obtained 35 percent, followed by Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte with 26 percent, Vice President Jejomar Binay with 18 percent, Liberal Party (LP) standard bearer Mar Roxas with 17 percent, and Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago with two percent.

Only one percent of respondents were undecided.

In the Bilang Pilipino SWS mobile survey taken last March 18, 33 percent chose Poe, 24 percent picked Duterte, 20 percent backed Binay, 18 percent were for Roxas, while three percent voted for Santiago.
The latest survey was conducted two days after the second presidential debate held in Cebu City on Palm Sunday.

Of the 1,200 original panel respondents, 806 or 67 percent responded to the March 22 mobile survey: 212 in Metro Manila, 190 in balance Luzon, 221 in the Visayas and 183 in Mindanao.

Of the 35 percent who chose Poe, 25 percent also voted for her on March 18, while two percent were former Binay voters, two percent were former Roxas voters, two percent were former Duterte voters and one percent were former Santiago voters.

Of the 26 percent who chose Duterte, 19 percent were solid Duterte since March 18, two percent switched from Poe, two percent switched from Binay, one percent switched from Roxas and 0.3 percent switched from Santiago.

Of the 18 percent who chose Binay, 15 percent were solid Binay since March 18, one percent switched from Poe, 0.3 percent switched from Duterte, 0.2 percent switched from Santiago and 0.1 percent switched from Roxas.

Of the 17 percent who chose Roxas, 14 percent were solid Roxas since March 18, one percent switched from Poe, 0.2 percent switched from Duterte and 0.1 percent switched from Binay.

In the vice presidential race, 30 percent chose Sen. Francis Escudero, 28 percent picked Sen. Ferdinand Marcos Jr., 23 percent were for Camarines Sur Rep. Leni Robredo, 11 percent chose Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano, four percent backed Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV and two percent supported Sen. Gringo Honasan II.

The same survey found four LP candidates, three independent candidates, one Akbayan candidate and one Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC) candidate in statistical position to take the top nine seats in the senatorial elections.

It has two independent candidates, two LP candidates, one Partido ng Masang Pilipino (PMP) candidate and one United Nationalist Alliance candidate in statistical contention for the last three seats.
Leading the top nine candidates are Senate President Franklin Drilon (LP) and Francis Pangilinan (LP), each chosen by 61 percent of validated voters surveyed (first to second places).

Occupying third spot is Sen. Vicente Sotto (NPC) with 58 percent, followed by Sen. Ralph Recto (LP) with 56 percent.

Former Akbayan lawmaker Risa Hontiveros and former senator Panfilo Lacson (independent), each with 55 percent, occupied the fifth to sixth places.

Taking seventh place is former senator Richard Gordon (independent) with 50 percent, followed by former justice secretary Leila de Lima (LP) with 49 percent and former senator Juan Miguel Zubiri (independent) with 48 percent.

The last three seats are being contested by Valenzuela City Rep. Sherwin Gatchalian (NPC) (10th place, 46 percent); Sen. Sergio Osmeña III (independent, 11th place, 43 percent), Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao (UNA) and former Technical Education and Skills Development Authority head Joel Villanueva (LP) in 12th to 13th places, each with 39 percent.

Manila Vice Mayor Isko Moreno Domagoso (PMP) occupied the 14th slot with 36 percent, followed by Sen. TG Guingona (LP) with 35 percent and actor Edu Manzano (independent, 34 percent).

The survey has sampling error margins of plus or minus three percentage points for national percentages and plus or minus seven percentage points in Metro Manila, balance Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao.